The Allan Gray Orbis Foundation bursary/ scholarship for SADC

The Allan Gray Orbis Foundation is offering scholarships, fellowships and bursaries for the those students interested in studying commerce, humanities (majoring in politics, economics, or philosophy), engineering, law, or science (except medicine) at a university of the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation’s choice.

Here are the requirements and criteria

The applicant must:

1. Be a citizen of one of the following countries: South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, or Swaziland.

2. Be financially needy.

3. Show exceptionally academic performance. (minimum average 65%)

4. indicate entrepreneurial flair and passion

5. be younger than 22 years old.

The Allan Gray Orbis university bursary or scholarship is awarded only to students studying or intending to study at the following South African universities: University of Johannesburg (UJ), University of the Witwatersrand (Wits),  Rhodes University, University of the Western Cape (UWC), Stellenbosch University, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU), and the University of Cape Town (UCT).

The Allan Gray Orbis Foundation also offers a high school bursary to pupils studying or intending to study at one of its selected schools (a list of these are available on the foundation’s website:

To get more information on this programme or to apply for this bursary, visit: or email: (for high school bursary) or (for university bursary).